Busy Blossom

By: flixpixandedibles

Jul 02 2012

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Pix

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/4.9
Focal Length:49.2mm
ISO:500
Shutter:1/250 sec
Camera:DMC-ZS7
Busy Blossom ©2012 HAB Photography

I was walking through the gardens at Millennium Park in Chicago, and I came across these beautiful coneflowers. As I looked more closely, I noticed that these flowers were very popular with many insects, including many varieties of bees and butterflies. I zoomed in on this flower because the butterfly initially caught my eye. When I later looked at the photograph I had taken, I noticed that there was a bee sitting on the flower as well.

There are several things I really like about this photograph. The isolation of the insects and the flower from the background highlights their beauty. The side view of the butterfly is also very cool. Typically butterflies are photographed when their wings are spread, but people seldom realize that the sides of their wings are beautiful as well. I also think that there is a lot of harmony in this picture. The two insects are very peacefully interacting and do not seem to notice each other, a perfect symbol for peace.

Please comment with your suggestions for future endeavors!

