Whimsical

Whimsical ©2012 HAB Photography

I was visiting the Portland Head Light in Cape Elizabeth, Maine when I came across this beautiful male Black Swallowtail butterfly. I took a series of pictures as this butterfly flitted from flower to flower. The movement in the upper wings is visible in this photograph, but I successfully managed to capture the markings on the lower wings in focus.  The markings on this butterfly are so vibrant and are absolutely beautiful.

People always say that “patience is a virtue”, and I really believe that statement is true, especially in photography. This butterfly was more active and moved more quickly than any other butterfly I have seen recently.  If I had given up and walked away from this butterfly, I would not have captured a photograph like the one above. Next time you come across a photo opportunity, wait around a while for the perfect moment until you capture a picture that you are proud of.

2 comments on “Whimsical”

  1. That is a beautiful photo! There’s beauty in everything.


Please comment with your suggestions for future endeavors!

