Square

By: flixpixandedibles

Aug 22 2012

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Pix

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/3.4
Focal Length:4.7mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/15 sec
Camera:DMC-ZS7
Square ©2012 HAB Photography

During my recent visit to a 4H Memorial Camp, I learned the art of making a square braid. I was at the 4H Camp through a Women in Engineering program at U of I, which is where I am currently attending college. I saw everyone weaving this plastic string, and I have always wanted to learn what type of knot is tied. Feeling the need to make sure the colors orange and navy blue were represented, I decided to try making a lanyard.  Someone taught me, and in less than five minutes, I was on my way to creating a lanyard. I think the lanyard has a really cool look to it so I wanted to share it with all of you!

  Unfortunately, this picture does not fully represent the cool look of this lanyard. I always feel spectacular when I learn a new skill, but sometimes it takes a little extra effort. Next time there is an opportunity to learn something new, whether it is any subject or specifically in photography, take the time to do so. Chances are, it is something that will come in handy in the future!

Here is a link to a picture that is similar to the one I used to make this square braid: http://theautry.org/ortega/images/square_crown_sennit.jpg.

Please comment with your suggestions for future endeavors!

