Luminous Lights

By: flixpixandedibles

Jan 09 2013

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Pix

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:200mm
ISO:1600
Shutter:1/4 sec
Camera:NIKON D200
Luminous Lights ©2013 HAB Photography

Let me begin by first apologizing for not blogging for such a long time. I am going to try to update this blog more and not let it go dormant for so long again.

While looking on the internet, I recently came across a very unique photograph composed of a variety of colored shapes that repeated across the photograph.  I decided to try to recreate at home. I created an opaque cover out of black construction paper and punched stars in it using a paper puncher.  Next, I attached this cover to the end of my 18-200 mm Nikon lens and by manually adjusting the focus with my camera aimed at our Christmas tree, a variety of pictures like the one above were born. I chose my favorite to share with you; I especially like how there is one bright star  with a number of dimmer star patterns behind it.

I highly recommend trying this, or anything photography related that interests you, at home. It took me a while to find the perfect combination of settings, including the proper focus and a steady hand, to capture a photography like this. I was ready to give up after a while, but I decided to continue to try different things, and I was luckily extremely successful!

Please comment with your suggestions for future endeavors!

