Waxy

Waxy ©2013 HAB Photography

This afternoon, I was relaxing with my good friend Morgan and we suddenly felt very crafty. We had seen projects similar to the one above on pinterest, so we decided to try our hand at it.

We purchased two canvases and a box of 64 crayons each for less than $10. I decided that I wanted to try to include words inside of the melted crayon artwork, so I first taped down the words in duct tape. Next, I peeled the wrappers off of all of the crayons, and hot glued each one to the canvas. (The wrappers can be left on, and will cause the hot glue to stick to the canvas more easily, but it can be done without the wrappers also.) Then, I rested the canvas up against a wall and lined the surrounding wall and bottom of the canvas with newspaper to catch all of the splattering wax. I then took a hairdryer on the high and hot setting and held it close to the crayons.

The result is seen above! What do you think of it?

If you are looking for something to do around your house that is inexpensive and very fun, I highly recommend this! Enjoy!

Please comment with your suggestions for future endeavors!

