Ripples

Ripples ©2013 HAB Photography

While walking around the Chicago Botanic Gardens, I snapped tons of pictures of flowers.  Unfortunately, they were all starting to become very similar in nature. Eventually, I came across these yellow tulips, and instead of focusing on the flowers themselves, I decided to try something different. I focused on the reflection of the flowers in the little pond below them.  I also decided to not zoom in as far as I have a tendency to do with flowers.

This picture turned out way cooler than I figured it would while I was taking it.  The water was fairly still, but there was enough movement, potentially due to the wind, to create a unique pattern on the surface and to distort the tulips.  Many times, surrounding features (such as the water) can enhance your photograph, so use them to your advantage.

2 comments on “Ripples”


Please comment with your suggestions for future endeavors!

