Secondary Summer

By: flixpixandedibles

Jun 10 2014

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Pix

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:200mm
ISO:400
Shutter:1/250 sec
Camera:NIKON D5000
Secondary Summer ©2014 HAB Photography

I was recently talking to a friend, and he asked me why I never post anything on my blog anymore. I told him I wasn’t exactly sure. I had just assumed that blogging didn’t mean that much to me anymore, and in truth, I got lazy. Well, I thought about his comment for quite a while, and today, on the last day before my domain name expired, here I am posting. So, many thanks to that friend for convincing me to pick up blogging again, and a special thank you to anyone who reads my posts. 🙂

This photograph is entitled “Secondary Summer” due to the appearance of all three secondary colors, and the fact that it was one of the first artsy photographs I took this summer.  I played around with the cropping of this photograph, and realized that it was necessary to keep the tall lines of all of the surrounding flowers. I like how they split up the picture into almost equal thirds, and they help to further direct attention to the flower in the middle.

At first when you look at this photograph, you may think that it is just a normal picture of a purple flower. But, when you look more closely, you can see that a bee has landed on the flower. In many ways, I find this photograph to be very similar to life; things are not always as they originally seem.  Sometimes, a step back from a situation or a closer look at the details can make all the difference.

Please comment with your suggestions for future endeavors!

